Out of my comfort zone.

I couldn’t have been more angry with GS than I was Monday night. He talked me into going on a Fun Run with about 70 other people. I have mentioned before that I am losing weight, but I still have a ways to go before I feel comfortable in my skin outside of my bedroom. I felt like the heaviest girl there by a good 100 lbs., which honestly was far from the case, but my head has an odd way of seeing things. One of my roommates decided to join along and it was the 3 of us.

As the run started I felt completely fine. GS and I had done a similar run only 2 days before and I made it the whole 3.5 miles. About 15 minutes in my knee started killing me. I had told GS and my roommate that it felt funny before we took off but I didn’t think anything of it because I have ran when I’ve hurt worse. Not even 5 minutes into the run GS was a good 1/10th of a mile ahead of my roommate and I. When my knee flared up I told her to go ahead and go ahead and I would catch up. I slowed to a walk but the pain was still there.

A few minutes later I look around and I’m in a huge subdivision near the river in the dark. I was lost. I didn’t see a single other person in that huge group of 70+ that we started with. I’m a slow runner in the first place and not to mention the fact that roommie and I started in the back. I was terrified. And hurting. And on my period to just top it all of. So what do I do? Keeping walking in the dark all while crying and blubbering to myself that I was going to kick GS’s ass when I found him. Eventually I found a familiar road and followed it back to the market we left from. I only had to wait a few minutes before GS ran in and my roommate was a few minutes behind him. 

I let him have it. And then he let me have it about how I was overreacting. 

I’m sorry. Overreacting? I was wandering around in the dark all by myself for a good 30 minutes. I do not think for a second that I was overreacting. The whole reason I was there was to run with him and he ran off and left me and didn’t look back once. Urgh! If I was a more violent person, I probably would’ve punched him.

Well as it always does, we worked things out. It only took a roll of sushi and a beer but we got the situation under control on Thursday. Part of me actually regrets it now though. I mean I sit here and bellyache about how awful I feel when I’m with him yet I do nothing about it. I had an opportunity to let that lie and I didn’t. But that’s enough of that…we’re going to move on to my latest irrational decision.

Have you even been at a bar or a restaurant and had a really cute waiter or bartender and thought, ‘Can I have a to-go box for you?’

On Wednesday I went out my friend and her boyfriend after she got off work. I had just left the gym so my grungy ass sat at that table in my running shorts and a baggy t-shirt looking like I had just ran from a pack of wild dogs. 

I couldn’t keep my eyes off of our server. He had dark brown hair a nice scruffiness going on. Honestly he reminded be a bit of C.. (I know, bad news.)  Every once in a while he would pass and ask us if we needed anything. Sometimes he would linger and chat. As we got our checks and were getting ready to leave I did something I haven’t ever done before. I left my number on the receipt along with little note mentioning that I thought he was a rather attractive individual.

My friend thought I was a crazy person. Hell, so did I. 

But, to my surprise, as I was halfway into dreamland my phone buzzed with a text from a number I didn’t recognize.

“M., I don’t normally do this but I just wanted to let you know that the note you left made my night. – Your Waiter”

Holy. Fucking. Shit. You’ve got to be kidding me! I got a reply from that guy looking the way that I did? Damn.

That was Wednesday night. And he wants to get a drink with me tonight. The problem now is that I also have plans to hangout with GS before he’s gone for a week on a trip with school. There is also the fact that I’m sick and don’t feel like doing anything with anybody. 

Decisions, decisions. Any advice is appreciated.

Leave a comment